Disclosure: When you buy through links on this site, we may earn a commission.

Disclosure: Watchdog Labs is free to use. When you buy through links on this site, we may earn a commission.

Please be aware that Hill’s is voluntarily recalling some canned dog food due to potentially elevated levels of Vitamin D. More information here.

Eukanuba Adult Mixed Grill Chicken & Beef Dinner in Gravy Formula Canned Dog Food

by Eukanuba
TOP PICK
Review Product PhotoReview Product Photo
CHECK PRICE NOW
Review Summary

30 Second Summary

March 7, 2019
Updated

Eukanuba Adult Mixed Grill Chicken & Beef Dinner is a mid-priced wet dog food with average quality. This product has 1 controversial ingredient and fortunately no artificial preservatives, colors or flavors. The food has well-balanced amounts of protein, fat and carbs and excellent meat and fat quality. Eukanuba, however, has an above-average number of recalls. However, the company was very open when answering our transparency questions.

Read the Full Review Below
TYPE
Wet Dog Food
PRICE
$$
BREED SIZE
Small, Medium, Large Breeds
AGE
Adult
FEATURES
Sensitive Digestion, Grain-Free, No Corn Wheat or Soy
PACKAGE
33, 4.4, 16.5 lbs
MADE IN
United States
COMPANY
Mars, Inc.

Created By Dog Lovers Like You

Product Reviews
3,173 Dog Foods
Reviewed
Expert Interviews
11 Experts
Interviewed
Dog Food Research
900+ Hours
of Research
Independent
100% Independent
& Zero Ads
Just Getting Started?

Just Getting Started?

Learn what makes a great dog food and get expert advice on how to choose the best food for your dog.

Learn MoreJust Getting Started?

Meet Our Team & Advisors

This dog food review was created by experts who love dogs. Find out more about our team and mission.

About Watchdog Labs
Nutrition

Nutrition

This food has well-balanced amounts of protein, fat, and carbs. Diets that are high in protein and fat, with moderate to low carbs, are ideal for most dogs.

To evaluate dog foods, we first calculate out the moisture. This is called the “dry matter basis” and shows you only the solid ingredients in the food. These estimated “dry matter” numbers are different from the food label, but a better way to understand the real nutritional value of the food. We also calculate the carbs. Find out more

Label Claim

Dry Matter

Min. Protein 44.44%

Min. Fat 22.22%

Min. Carbs 22.22%

Max. Fiber 8.33%

Max. Ash 11.11%

Max. Moisture 0.00%

Label Claim

Food Label

Min. Protein: 8.0%

Min Fat: 4.0%

Min Carbs: N/A

Max Fiber: 1.5%

Max Ash: N/A

Max. Moisture: 82.0%

Calories

Calories

345 Calories per Cup

This product has a somewhat low amount of calories. It’s important to understand how many calories you are feeding to prevent under or overfeeding. Lower calorie foods like this can be for weight loss or less active dogs who require fewer daily calories. Based on your dog's current weight and activity level you may want to feed more or less than the recommended amount. It's helpful to know that weight loss foods often have fewer than 340 calories per cup, weight maintenance foods typically range from 340-380 calories, and high-activity dog foods are usually over 400 calories.

FDA Alert

Help Other Dogs

Share Watchdog With Your Friends

Share
Share
Share
Share
FDA Alert

FDA Alert

Grain-Free Dog Foods

This is a grain-free dog food. The FDA is investigating a potential connection between grain-free diets and canine heart disease. There is not enough evidence yet to affect our ratings but we've created an article for you explaining the topic.

Learn More
75.1%
WATCHDOG
SCORE
Score BannerOverall Rating Score
Ingredients

Ingredients

Score
78%
39
Total Ingredients
1
Controversial Ingredients

Water, Chicken, Beef Liver, Beef, Wheat Flour, Pork Plasma, Peas, Carrots, Tomato, Egg Product, Cellulose, Flaxseed, Sunflower Oil (preserved with mixed tocopherols), Natural Flavors, Tomato Powder, Guar Gum, Sodium Tripolyphosphoate, Calcium Carbonate, Xanthan, Potassium Chloride, Vitamin E Supplement, Magnesium Oxide, Zinc Oxide, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Proteinate, Copper sulfate, Thiamine Mononitrate, Biotin, Manganous Oxide, Niacin, Sodium Selenite, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin, Calcium Iodate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Vitamin A Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement.

The average dog food we reviewed has 39 total ingredients, with 1 controversial ingredient. This product has 1 controversial ingredient.


Top 5 Ingredients

Dog food ingredients are listed in descending order of weight. So when looking at a dog food label, take a close look at the first 5 ingredients. They make up about 80% of the total weight.


  • Water
    Water doesn't add nutrients to the food but is routinely used in dog food manufacturing (especially for canned foods). It's a standard dog food ingredient.
  • Chicken
    Chicken is a nutritious meat that provides protein, fat and other nutrients to dogs. Raw meat contains about 75% water which is cooked off during the making of dog food. This leaves only a fraction of the protein content in the final product's weight. We recommend looking for dog foods that also include meat meals in the first five ingredients (pre-cooked meat powder that contains four times the amount of protein). However, chicken is generally a healthy dog food ingredient.
  • Beef Liver
    Beef liver is an organ that's rich in iron, copper, and vitamin A and B. Generally, the liver is a nutritious and healthy ingredient that provides nutrients and flavor that makes your dog want to eat the food.

  • Beef
    Beef is the culinary name for cuts of meat from cattle, particularly skeletal muscle. In dog food, beef can also include muscle tissues from the tongue, heart, diaphragm or esophagus. Beef is rich in protein and nutrients like niacin, vitamin B12, creatine, iron and zinc. Beef is generally a healthy dog food ingredient. Whole meat contains about 75% water which is cooked off during the making of dog food. This leaves only a fraction of the protein content in the final product. We recommend looking for dog foods that also include meat meals (pre-cooked meat powder that contains four times the amount of protein).

  • Wheat Flour
    Wheat flour is not simply good or bad. It's a lower cost ingredient that does provide energy, but some dogs can have a sensitivity to it. Wheat is not generally considered a controversial ingredient, but is controversial when it is used in the top five ingredients (which make up about 80% of the food's weight) where a named meat or lean protein would be more nutritious.

Controversial Ingredients

  1. Wheat Flour
  2. Wheat flour is not simply good or bad. It's a lower cost ingredient that does provide energy, but some dogs can have a sensitivity to it. Wheat is not generally considered a controversial ingredient, but is controversial when it is used in the top five ingredients (which make up about 80% of the food's weight) where a named meat or lean protein would be more nutritious.

Country of Origin

Eukanuba manufactures this product in the United States.


Meat & Fat Quality

This product uses named meat and protein sources like Chicken, Beef Liver Beef, Pork Plasma, and Egg Product. This is good to see because it shows you the species the ingredient comes from. The same goes for the fat sources (like Flaxseed and Sunflower Oil) - both of them identify the plants they come from.


Artificial Preservatives

This product does not contain controversial preservatives. Artificial preservatives help prevent food from spoiling. However, we consider 11 artificial preservatives controversial because of their potential link to cancer and other serious health conditions.


Artificial Colors

There are no artificial colors in this food.


Artificial Flavors

There are no artificial flavors in this food.

Recalls

Recalls

Score
60%
3
Brand Recalls

Eukanuba has a above-average number of recalls.

Date:
8/13/2013
Recalled Products:
Eukanuba Dog Food Base Maintenance Mature Adult, 30 lb bag, UPC: 19014149308. Eukanuba Dog Food Breed Specific Chihuahua Adult, 4 lb bags, UPC: 19014607037. Eukanuba Dog Food Base Small Breed Adult, 4 lb (UPC: 19014039722) and 16 lb (UPC: 19014010516) bags. Eukanuba Dog Food Base Maintenance Puppy, 5 lb. (UPC 19014039852), 16.5 lb. (UPC 19014042234), and 33 lb. (UPC 19014609468) bags. Eukanuba Dog Food Breed Specific Labrador Retriever Adult, 36 lb bags, UPC: 19014019564. Eukanuba Dog Food Base Large Breed Mature Adult, 15 lb. (UPC: 19014270156), and 30 lb. (UPC: 19014270309) bags. Eukanuba Dog Food Professional Feeding Bag Small. Breed Puppy, 44 lb bags, UPC: 19014113194. Eukanuba Dog Food Premium Performance 30/20 Adult, 33 lb bags, UPC: 19014609475. Eukanuba Dog Food Weight Control Large Breed Adult, 30 lb bags, UPC: 19014269303. Eukanuba Dog Food Breed Specific Boxer Adult, 36 lb. bags (UPC 19014019588). Eukanuba Dog Food Base Small Breed Puppy, 4 lb. (UPC 19014039678), 16 lb. (UPC 19014010509), and 40 lb. (UPC 19014011070) bags
Cause:
Product has the potential to be contaminated with Salmonella.
Class:
I
FDA recalls use classes from I (most serious) to III (least serious).
Type:
Voluntary
Quantity:
N/A
Source
Date:
7/10/2010
Recalled Products:
Eukanuba dry dog foods in the following sizes, varieties and date codes: Eukanuba Naturally Wild, all dry sizes and varieties, “Best by” dates from July 1, 2010 to Dec. 1, 2011, Eukanuba Pure, all dry sizes and varieties, “Best by” dates from July 1, 2010 to Dec. 1, 2011, Eukanuba Custom Care Sensitive Skin, all dry sizes, “Best by” dates from July 1, 2010 to Dec. 1, 2011.
Cause:
Potential for salmonella.
Class:
I
FDA recalls use classes from I (most serious) to III (least serious).
Type:
N/A
Quantity:
N/A
Source
Date:
March 2007
Recalled Products:
Various Eukanuba wet pouch and canned pet food products under specific lot numbers.
Cause:
Melamine.
Class:
I
FDA recalls use classes from I (most serious) to III (least serious).
Type:
N/A
Quantity:
N/A
Source
Transparency

Transparency

Score
76%

We love dog food brands that are committed to transparent business practices. If you make quality dog food you should be willing to openly talk about how it’s sourced and produced. That’s why we reached out to pet food companies, asking questions about all their brands and products. Each company had three weeks to reply to our messages.

How Easy Was it to Reach the Company?

Eukanuba is part of the Mars family of brands and was pretty responsive. It only required one email, and they responded in 4 days. Not lightning fast, but compared to the average it was good response time.

Does Eukanuba have a veterinary nutritionist on staff? If so, who are they?  

We have two nutritionists on staff for better checks and balances.  One is full time and has done 7 years post graduate work in nutrition, his work has been published in peer reviewed Veterinary and Nutrition journals for over 30 years. His work is also cited in the NRC Nutrient Requirements for Dogs and Cats.  The other is a Board Certified Veterinary Nutritionist (DVM, PhD, DACVN, DACVSMR) who has an office in our headquarters but is considered part time so he can continue his work in academia.

The detail here is great, but they were unable to share the specific names of the professionals.

Who formulates your recipes, and what are their credentials?

Developing pet foods involves teams of Associates with expertise in many different fields including nutrition, food science, animal science and veterinary sciences. Mars Petcare has been developing pet foods for over 80 years and the nutritional knowledge and expertise of our associates goes into every diet we produce.

This response felt more like a marketing response and dodges the actual question. They were unable to provide any names of the professionals involved in the formulation of the product.  

Do you test your products using the AAFCO feeding trials? Why, or why not?

This depends on the diet.  Both ways of ensuring nutritional adequacy are acceptable methods and the method employed on a particular diet is listed on the diet itself within the nutritional adequacy statement.  For those products that are formulated to meet nutrient profiles, we utilize our extensive database of the nutrient content of our ingredients and well as analytical values of key nutrients in order to ensure the delivery of the nutrient profiles of our diets.  

Every dog food label will list of the AAFCO Statement, which tells you if a feeding trial has been done. There is much debate on the effectiveness of these trials, but we feel it is insightful to hear how a manufacturer views them as part of their product development.

What country are your products manufactured?

This question was not explicitly answered for the Eukanuba line.

Can your manufacturing facilities be visited?

No, they cannot be visited by the public.

We found that most large multinational companies like Mars have manufacturing facilities that are not open to the public.  

What quality measures do you use to assure consistency and quality?

Quality is the cornerstone of every aspect of our business and the number one responsibility of all our employees, suppliers and distributors. At Mars Petcare, we have a vision for making A BETTER WORLD FOR PETS®. The health and wellbeing of pets is our absolute priority. Our products are manufactured in strict compliance with the stringent guidelines set down by the U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA), Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO), as well as each state's feed regulations and in many cases our own guidelines far exceed them. Under the Mars Supplier Quality Assurance Program, all of the raw materials that we and our suppliers use must meet our strict global internal quality and safety requirements, in addition to local laws and regulation.  Our robust global standards, which apply at every stage of the supply chain, allow us to ensure that all of our products are safe, nutritious and enjoyable, meaning owners can feel confident that their pets will thrive on our products.  

Does Eukanuba own its manufacturing facility? If it is another company, what company is it?

In the U.S. we employ 25,000 Associates across 6 segments: Mars Food, Mars Drinks, Mars Petcare, Mars Chocolate, Mars Symbioscience and Wrigley.  We employ more than 75,000 Associates worldwide. We have 37 manufacturing plants in the U.S. and 43 U.S. states have Mars operations. For more than 100 years, Mars has been committed to making our products in the markets where we sell them.  By growing our footprint in the U.S., we are better able to introduce new products to meet consumer demand for greater choice and variety.  

In short, they own the facilities.  

Do any parts of your product come from China?

We source our ingredients for our North American plants as close to our facilities as possible. We do not purchase meat-based ingredients from China. Our vitamins and minerals often come from China, as that is often one of the only locations to source these ingredients globally, similar to human foods. Mars has an extensive Supplier Quality Assurance program, which includes audits and visits from our own associates to these suppliers.

We learned from speaking to many companies that sourcing quality ingredients at scale is a significant challenge. This reality means that companies like Mars who are supplying massive distribution channels will often use a variety of sourcing options, including China.

Eukanuba Adult Mixed Grill Chicken & Beef Dinner in Gravy Formula Canned Dog Food

by Eukanuba
CHECK PRICE NOW
Other Products From This Brand

Other Food From This Brand

Educational Resources

Educational Resources

Sources

Sources

Disclaimer

Made with love in Cambridge, MA.
© 2019 Watchdog Labs Inc. All rights reserved.

Watchdog Labs, Watchdog Score and watchdoglabs.com are trademarks of Watchdog Labs Inc.

Disclaimer

DISCLAIMER: All content on this website, including but not limited to statements about products are to be construed as opinions only. All statements made by or associated with Watchdog Labs, Inc., including but not limited to text, graphics, videos, web content, social media content, e-mails, marketing and informational materials, advertisements, statements made by company representatives, and repeated statements which originated from third-party sources are to be construed as opinions only. Watchdog Labs, Inc. is not responsible for the quality or the veracity of statements or information from third-party sources. Third-party sources shall include but not be limited to labs, online stores, sellers, other websites, brands and manufacturers.

Disclaimer

DISCLAIMER: Our reviews and testing are necessarily limited in scope, and products may vary significantly from one package to another and from one store to another. We may only test one batch of a product from one store and not all reviewed products have undergone lab tests. Our opinion is based on that limited testing.

Disclaimer

DISCLAIMER: These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration or the Association of American Feed Control Officials. Products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Always consult your veterinary professional before choosing any products for your pet.

Disclaimer

DISCLAIMER: Actual product packaging and materials may contain more and different information than what is shown on this website. Always read all labels, warnings, and directions before using a product.

Disclaimer

DISCLOSURE: When readers buy products on this site, we earn a commission that supports our work.

Disclaimer

Watchdog Labs is not affiliated, associated, authorized by, endorsed by, or in any way connected to the brands and companies mentioned on this website. All trademarks, copyrights, and other rights are the property of their respective owners. See our Terms of Service for DMCA notices.

Disclaimer

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. All prices on this site may change and those considered valid are displayed on Amazon.com