Disclosure: When you buy through links on this site, we may earn a commission.

Disclosure: Watchdog Labs is free to use. When you buy through links on this site, we may earn a commission.

Dog Food Ratings

Please be aware that Hill’s is voluntarily recalling some canned dog food due to potentially elevated levels of Vitamin D. More information here.

Diamond Naturals Beef Meal & Rice Formula Adult Dry Dog Food

by Diamond
TOP PICK
Review Product PhotoReview Product Photo
CHECK PRICE NOW
Review Summary

30 Second Summary

March 7, 2019
Updated

Diamond Naturals Beef Meal & Rice Formula is a low-priced dry dog food with good quality. This product has includes no controversial ingredients like artificial preservatives, colors and flavors. However, the food has a high amount of carbs but excellent meat and fat quality. Diamond has an above-average number of dog food recalls. The company, however, was extremely transparent when answering our questions. Watchdog Labs recommends this product.

Read the Full Review Below
TYPE
Dry Dog Food
PRICE
$
BREED SIZE
Small, Medium, Large Breeds
AGE
Adult
FEATURES
No Corn Wheat or Soy
PACKAGE
40 lbs
MADE IN
United States
COMPANY
Schell & Kampeter Inc.

Created By Dog Lovers Like You

Product Reviews
3,173 Dog Foods
Reviewed
Expert Interviews
11 Experts
Interviewed
Dog Food Research
900+ Hours
of Research
Independent
100% Independent
& Zero Ads
Just Getting Started?

Just Getting Started?

Learn what makes a great dog food and get expert advice on how to choose the best food for your dog.

Learn MoreJust Getting Started?

Meet Our Team & Advisors

This dog food review was created by experts who love dogs. Find out more about our team and mission.

About Watchdog Labs
Nutrition

Nutrition

This food has a fair amount of protein but is high in carbs, which is lowering the fat content slightly and making it less nutritionally balanced compared to other dog foods we evaluated. Carbohydrates are cheap so they keep the food’s cost low. They are nutritionally useful to dogs in the right amounts, however, high amounts of carbs can reduce the much-needed meat-based protein and fat content.

To evaluate dog foods, we first calculate out the moisture. This is called the “dry matter basis” and shows you only the solid ingredients in the food. These estimated “dry matter” numbers are different from the food label, but a better way to understand the real nutritional value of the food. We also calculate the carbs. Find out more

Label Claim

Dry Matter

Min. Protein 27.78%

Min. Fat 16.67%

Min. Carbs 47.78%

Max. Fiber 5.00%

Max. Ash 7.78%

Max. Moisture 0.00%

Label Claim

Food Label

Min. Protein: 25.0%

Min Fat: 15.0%

Min Carbs: N/A

Max Fiber: 4.5%

Max Ash: N/A

Max. Moisture: 10.0%

Calories

Calories

329 Calories per Cup

This product has a relatively low amount of calories. It’s important to understand how many calories you are feeding to prevent under or overfeeding. Low-calorie foods like this can be for weight loss or less active dogs who require fewer daily calories. Based on your dog's current weight and activity level you may want to feed more or less than the recommended amount. It's helpful to know that weight loss foods often have fewer than 340 calories per cup, weight maintenance foods typically range from 340-380 calories, and high-activity dog foods are usually over 400 calories.

FDA Alert

Help Other Dogs

Share Watchdog With Your Friends

Share
Share
Share
Share
FDA Alert

FDA Alert

Grain-Free Dog Foods

This is a grain-free dog food. The FDA is investigating a potential connection between grain-free diets and canine heart disease. There is not enough evidence yet to affect our ratings but we've created an article for you explaining the topic.

Learn More
89.5%
WATCHDOG
SCORE
Score BannerOverall Rating Score
Ingredients

Ingredients

Score
94%
58
Total Ingredients
0
Controversial Ingredients

Beef Meal, Peas, Ground White Rice, Egg Product, Dried Yeast, Rice Bran, Chicken Fat (Preserved With Mixed Tocopherols), Pea Flour, Dried Beet Pulp, Natural Flavor, Flaxseed, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Dl-Methionine, Choline Chloride, Taurine, Dried Chicory Root, Kale, Chia Seed, Pumpkin, Blueberries, Oranges, Quinoa, Dried Kelp, Coconut, Spinach, Carrots, Papaya, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Dried Lactobacillus Plantarum Fermentation Product, Dried Bacillus Subtilis Fermentation Product, Dried Lactobacillus Acidophilus Fermentation Product, Dried Enterococcus Faecium Fermentation Product, Dried Bifidobacterium Animalis Fermentation Product, Vitamin E Supplement, Beta Carotene, Iron Proteinate, Zinc Proteinate, Copper Proteinate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Sulfate, Copper sulfate, Potassium Iodide, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Manganese Proteinate, Manganous Oxide, Ascorbic Acid, Vitamin A Supplement, Biotin, Niacin, Calcium Pantothenate, Manganese Sulfate, Sodium Selenite, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Vitamin D Supplement, Folic Acid.

The average dog food we reviewed has 39 total ingredients, with 1 controversial ingredient. This recipe does not include any controversial ingredients.


Top 5 Ingredients

Dog food ingredients are listed in descending order of weight. So when looking at a dog food label, take a close look at the first 5 ingredients. They make up about 80% of the total weight.


  • Beef Meal
    Beef meal is dehydrated whole muscle from cattle. Meat meals are the result of cooking. Water is removed from meats to create a protein-rich meal powder. Meat meals contain about four times the protein meats do, so generally, they're a good source of nutrients. Beef meal is generally a healthy dog food ingredient.
  • Peas
    Peas are a good source of carbs, fiber and protein. Peas are starchy but high in vitamin A, vitamin B6, vitamin C, vitamin K, phosphorus, magnesium, copper, iron, and zinc. We consider this a healthy dog food ingredient. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has warned that there is a potential link between peas and canine heart disease. It is still too early to draw conclusions so we cannot yet say if peas are a generally high-quality dog food ingredient or should be avoided.
  • Ground White Rice
    White rice is regular rice that is milled to remove parts of the grain, including the husk, bran, and germ. This changes the flavor, texture and appearance of the rice and also extends its storage life. It provides calories, complex carbohydrates and a few other nutrients to dogs. However, because important parts of the grain have been removed, white rice offers lower protein and other nutrients than whole grain rice or brown rice. Therefore, we do not consider it a high-quality dog food ingredient.

  • Egg Product
    Egg Product are shell-free eggs that have had their moisture removed. While it provides nutrients like protein, it can be made from food-industry waste products such as eggs that failed to hatch. In other words, quality can vary. Because there are better protein sources (like whole eggs or meat) we do not consider this a high-quality dog food ingredient.

  • Dried Yeast
    Yeasts are single-celled microorganisms. While commonly used, there is not yet enough scientific evidence for or against yeast as a dog food ingredient.

Controversial Ingredients

No controversial ingredients in this food.


‍Country of Origin

Diamond makes its products in the USA.


Meat & Fat Quality

This product uses clearly named proteins such as beef meal, and egg product. This is great because it shows us exactly which animal these ingredients come from. In addition there are a number of named fats like chicken fat, flaxseed, and chia seed. Again, all naming the source and indicating they are a quality ingredient.


Artificial Preservatives

This product contains 0 controversial preservatives. Artificial preservatives are not always bad since they prevent food from spoiling. However, there are 11 specific artificial preservatives that have been linked to cancer and other serious health conditions. We consider those to be the controversial ones.


Artificial Colors

Diamond has not included artificial colors in this product.


Artificial Flavors

There are no artificial color either.

Recalls

Recalls

Score
60%
4
Brand Recalls

This brand has an above-average number of food recalls.

Date:
5/21/2012
Recalled Products:
6 lb. and 18 lb. bags plus sample sizes of Diamond Naturals Small Breed Adult Dog Lamb & Rice Formula, with Production Code #DSL0801 and the following “Best By” dates: Oct. 20, 2012, Aug. 26, 2012, Sept. 27, 2012, Oct. 8, 2012.
Cause:
Potential for salmonella.
Class:
I
FDA recalls use classes from I (most serious) to III (least serious).
Type:
N/A
Quantity:
N/A
Source
Date:
5/5/2012
Recalled Products:
All varieties and sizes of both Diamond and Diamond Naturals pet foods were recalled in this large expansion of the previous recall (April 2012), but only those products manufactured in the company’s Gaston, South Carolina, facility, noted in the Production Code number with a “2” or “3” in the 9th position AND an “X” in the 10th or 11th position, and only those with “Best Before” dates falling between Dec. 9, 2012 and April 7, 2013.
Cause:
Potential for salmonella.
Class:
I
FDA recalls use classes from I (most serious) to III (least serious).
Type:
N/A
Quantity:
N/A
Source
Date:
4/30/2012
Recalled Products:
The following Diamond dry dog foods were among those pulled from shelves (this recall was later greatly expanded in May 2012): Diamond Naturals Lamb & Rice, 6 lb., Production Code #DLR0101D3XALW, Best Before 4-Jan-2013, Diamond Naturals Lamb & Rice, 20 lb., Production Code #DLR0101C31XAG, Best Before 3-Jan-2013, Diamond Naturals Lamb & Rice, 40 lb., Production Code #DLR0101C31XMF, Best Before 3-Jan-2013, Diamond Naturals Lamb & Rice, 40 lb., Production Code #DLR0101C31XAG, Best Before 3-Jan-2013, Diamond Naturals Lamb & Rice, 40 lb., Production Code #DLR0101D32XMS, Best Before 4-Jan-2013, Diamond Puppy Formula, 40 lb., Production Code #DPP0401B22XJW, Best Before 6-Apr-2013, Diamond Puppy Formula, 40 lb., Production Code #DPP0401A21XAW, Best Before 6-Apr-2013, Diamond Puppy Formula, 40 lb., Production Code #DPP0101C31XME, Best Before 11-Jan-2013, Diamond Puppy Formula, 40 lb., Production Code #DPP0401B21XDJ, Best Before 7-Apr-2013, Diamond Puppy Formula, 20 lb., Production Code #DPP0401B22XJW, Best Before 6-Apr-2013, Diamond Puppy Formula, 20 lb., Production Code #DPP0101C31XME, Best Before 11-Jan-2013, Diamond Puppy Formula, 20 lb., Production Code #DPP0101C31XRB, Best Before 11-Jan-2013, Diamond Puppy Formula, 8 lb., Production Code #DPP0401B2XALW, Best Before 7-Apr-2013, Diamond Puppy Formula, 6 oz. samples, Production Code #DPP0401 (no date given).
Cause:
Potential for salmonella.
Class:
I
FDA recalls use classes from I (most serious) to III (least serious).
Type:
N/A
Quantity:
N/A
Source
Date:
12/20/2005
Recalled Products:
The following products from the company’s Gaston, South Carolina, manufacturing facility, noted with a capital “G” in the 11th or 12th character in the date code, and only those with “Best by” dates falling between March 1, 2007 and June 11, 2007: Diamond Low Fat Dog Food, Diamond Hi-Energy Dog Food, Diamond Maintenance Dog Food, Diamond Performance Dog Food, Diamond Premium Adult Dog Food, Diamond Puppy Food, Diamond Maintenance Cat Food, Diamond Professional Cat Food.
Cause:
Possible aflatoxin.
Class:
I
FDA recalls use classes from I (most serious) to III (least serious).
Type:
N/A
Quantity:
N/A
Source
Transparency

Transparency

Score
100%

We love dog food brands that are committed to transparent business practices. If you make quality dog food you should be willing to openly talk about how it’s sourced and produced. That’s why we reached out to pet food companies, asking questions about all their brands and products. Each company had three weeks to reply to our messages.

How Easy Was it to Reach the Company?

Diamond responded in the first day to our email. They left a few questions unanswered, but quickly resolved them with the follow-up email.

Does Diamond have a veterinary nutritionist on staff? If so, who are they?

We use a team approach for veterinary and pet nutrition. The team is comprised of staff members as well as outside consultants. Dr. Alexia Heldman is the staff veterinarian while Dr. Melissa Brookshire and her veterinary team provide regular consultation. In addition, Dr. George Fahey, a prominent nutritionist, provides nutritional consultation on an ongoing basis.

Who formulates your recipes, and what are their credentials?

Mark Brinkmann has been formulating recipes for Diamond Pet Foods since 1995, and trained under Mark Morris, the founder of Hill's Science Diet.


Do you test your products using AAFCO feeding trials? Why, or why not?

All of our products are formulated to meet the nutrient levels established by AAFCO.


(follow-up email response)
With regard to the AAFCO 6-month feeding trials, we do use them from time to time, but only on a limited basis. We believe that these tests can be overstated in their value. The AAFCO test protocol only requires 8 dogs be in the study, and most research facilities use only beagles. In our view, that protocol by itself does not constitute a robust assurance of nutritional adequacy. In fact, it is possible to pass an AAFCO feeding trial with nutrient values that fall below the AAFCO Nutrient Profile requirements.

We believe strongly in the value of the AAFCO Nutrient Profiles. These profiles were developed by some of the best pet nutritionists and veterinarians in the world and were updated in 2016 to reflect new nutritional information available. These profiles are comprehensive lists of required nutritional values, the span of which includes Amino Acids, Vitamins, Minerals, and Fatty Acids. Validating our adherence to these requirements is the path we use most often to ensure nutritional adequacy. It is our view that meeting and exceeding these requirements assures that our foods are nutritionally adequate for the pets that we are feeding.

What country are your products manufactured?

We have five manufacturing facilities, all located in the United States – two in California, one in Missouri, one in Arkansas and one in South Carolina.

Can your manufacturing facilities be visited?

Please visit our corporate website, http://diamondpetcompany.com/#facilities/1 for a virtual tour of our state-of-the-art facilities to get an inside look at what it takes to create quality products.


(follow-up email response)

Due to safety regulations and to ensure that our quality control protocols are followed, tours of our facility are limited to the virtual tour on our website.

What quality measures do you use to assure consistency and quality?

Our manufacturing processes adhere to stringent and scientifically advanced food safety protocols. We constantly monitor and test our raw materials, production environment, processes and finished products. By continuously improving performance with the latest advancements in science and technology, we’ve developed a comprehensive food safety system that guides our processes and ensures the quality and safety of our products. Here is a brief overview of some facets of that system:


On-Site Product Testing

We test and monitor every aspect of the manufacturing process: pre-production, production and post-production.


Mycotoxin Control

Mycotoxins are toxic chemicals produced by fungi that can occasionally appear in grains. Therefore, no grain ingredients are allowed to enter our facilities without having been thoroughly analyzed. Additionally, we test all finished products prior to release.


Microbial Testing

We conduct over 1,300 microbiological tests every week. All topical palatants and probiotics must have a Certificate of Analysis and prove to be Salmonella-negative before submission to our facilities.


Water Purification

Our reverse osmosis water purification process ensures the water we use is free from microorganisms and any possible contaminants.


Air Quality Control

All facilities are segregated into zones to ensure separation of raw materials from finished products and equipped with HEPA®-filtered and ozone air-treated handling units.


Test and Hold Program

No product is released into distribution without adhering to the strict standards of our Test and Hold Program, in which product tests are conducted by a certified, independent laboratory.

Does Diamond own its manufacturing facility? If it is another company, what company is it?

We have five manufacturing facilities, all located in the United States – two in California, one in Missouri, one in Arkansas and one in South Carolina.

(follow-up email response)

Diamond Pet Foods does own our five manufacturing facilities.

Do any parts of your product come from China?

We use some ingredients that are not USA sourced, like flaxseed and barley, both which originate in Canada and lamb and lamb meal from New Zealand and Australia, potato protein from Germany and dried chicory root from Belgium.  


There are ingredients that are critical to our formulations (i.e. folic acid and taurine) that can only be sourced out of China.  Our choice is to either include these ingredients or manufacture our foods without them, which would not be in the best interest of your pet, in our view.


Some pet food companies are making “China-Free” claims despite the facts I’ve outlined above.  They accomplish this by utilizing a loophole in European law.  European laws allow for ingredients purchased outside their continent, then reprocessed in Europe, to be labeled with European origin.  We could likewise hide behind that loophole in the law, and tell you what you want to hear, but choose not to for obvious reasons.  I’d rather you not feed our foods than to tell you they are China-free, when they are not.

Diamond Naturals Beef Meal & Rice Formula Adult Dry Dog Food

by Diamond
CHECK PRICE NOW
Other Products From This Brand

Other Food From This Brand

Educational Resources

Educational Resources

Sources

Sources

Disclaimer

Made with love in Cambridge, MA.
© 2019 Watchdog Labs Inc. All rights reserved.

Watchdog Labs, Watchdog Score and watchdoglabs.com are trademarks of Watchdog Labs Inc.

Disclaimer

DISCLAIMER: All content on this website, including but not limited to statements about products are to be construed as opinions only. All statements made by or associated with Watchdog Labs, Inc., including but not limited to text, graphics, videos, web content, social media content, e-mails, marketing and informational materials, advertisements, statements made by company representatives, and repeated statements which originated from third-party sources are to be construed as opinions only. Watchdog Labs, Inc. is not responsible for the quality or the veracity of statements or information from third-party sources. Third-party sources shall include but not be limited to labs, online stores, sellers, other websites, brands and manufacturers.

Disclaimer

DISCLAIMER: Our reviews and testing are necessarily limited in scope, and products may vary significantly from one package to another and from one store to another. We may only test one batch of a product from one store and not all reviewed products have undergone lab tests. Our opinion is based on that limited testing.

Disclaimer

DISCLAIMER: These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration or the Association of American Feed Control Officials. Products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Always consult your veterinary professional before choosing any products for your pet.

Disclaimer

DISCLAIMER: Actual product packaging and materials may contain more and different information than what is shown on this website. Always read all labels, warnings, and directions before using a product.

Disclaimer

DISCLOSURE: When readers buy products on this site, we earn a commission that supports our work.

Disclaimer

Watchdog Labs is not affiliated, associated, authorized by, endorsed by, or in any way connected to the brands and companies mentioned on this website. All trademarks, copyrights, and other rights are the property of their respective owners. See our Terms of Service for DMCA notices.

Disclaimer

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. All prices on this site may change and those considered valid are displayed on Amazon.com